Close

Picture books:

The Worrysaurus, written by Rachael Bright and illustrated by Chris Chatterton

If there was ever a time to read a picture book about dealing with anxiety with your little ones, now is probably the time. With a lovely rhyme scheme, bright, engaging pictures and a reassuring message, this is the picture book we all need in our lives right now.

There’s an Alien in Your Book, written by Tom Fletcher and illustrated by Greg Abbott

This is the third in this series of laugh out loud, interactive books that will get your tots shouting, shaking and turning books upside down in the name of getting rid one very pesky alien. For little ones who aren’t too keen on sitting still through story time, this is the perfect answer. Be ready for a lot of excitement, giggling and space themed fun with a subtle inclusive message too.

Early years and emerging readers:

Mummy Fairy and Me: Mermaid Magic, written by Sophie Kinsella and illustrated by Marta Kissi

You’ll probably be familiar with Sophie Kinsella from her super successful and totally hilarious Shopaholic books, but she’s now ventured into writing for a much younger audience, bringing all the same humour and wit (but not so much credit card debt). This is the fourth book in her series for young readers and see Ella and her magical mum get up to all kinds of funny, fantastical adventures. A lovely story to read together.

Rabbit & Bear: A Bite in the Night, written by Julian Gough and illustrated by Jim Field

When the trees start mysteriously disappearing from near the river, Rabbit knows something weird is going down. Along with Bear and a host of other kooky animals, they set out to get to the bottom of this strange occurrence. A quick, entertaining read from a brilliantly matched writing and illustrating duo. Again, this is part of a wider series, but each story stands alone perfectly by itself.

Middle Grade:

Orphans of the Tide, written by Struan Murray

Full of intrigue, adventure and mystery, this fantastical tale is perfect for fans of His Dark Materials and Frances Hardinge. When a mysterious boy washed up in Ellie’s city, everyone believes he is a vengeful god, arrived to cause absolute chaos. Only Ellie is determined to prove his innocence. A whip smart fantasy with a brilliant, inventive heroine at its centre.

Bloom, written by Nicola Skinner

Sorrel Fallowfield is so good even teachers look to her for reminders of the rules. That is until she finds a packet of Surprising Seeds and her whole world is turned upside down. A gorgeously written tale about not fitting in, perfect for fans of Kiran Millwood Hargrave and MG Leonard.

Teens and Young Adults:

The Map from Here to There, written by Emery Lord

Paige’s life is all going to plan during her senior year. It really couldn’t be better. However, she soon finds the pressures of all the big decisions she must soon make bearing down on her and she starts to panic. A perfect read for those facing so much uncertainty right now and a definite hit with fans of Rainbow Rowell and Nicola Yoon.

The Last hours: Chain of Gold, written by Cassandra Clare

A brand-new series set in the Shadowhunter world, Cassandra Clare takes us this time to Edwardian London where the Carstairs family must unravel mysteries, battle demons and navigate the social etiquettes of the time. Featuring a quarantined London, this is escapist fantasy with a few slivers of current affairs woven in.

You may also like